EN

San Diego Comic-Con 2016 (ps16)

#29 ⸱ Mythic ⸱ English
Gideon, Ally of Zendikar

 

Variations

Parts

Other Printings

  

Gideon, Ally of Zendikar    
Legendary Planeswalker — Gideon
+1: Until end of turn, Gideon, Ally of Zendikar becomes a 5/5 Human Soldier Ally creature with indestructible that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn.
0: Create a 2/2 white Knight Ally creature token.
−4: You get an emblem with "Creatures you control get +1/+1."

 

Illustrated by Eric Deschamps

Rulings

2015-08-25

Gideon’s first ability causes him to become a creature with the creature types Human, Soldier, and Ally. He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon. (He also retains any other card types or subtypes he may have had.) Each subtype is correlated to the proper card type: planeswalker is only a type (not a creature type), and Human, Soldier, and Ally are just creature types (not planeswalker types).

 

2015-08-25

If Gideon becomes a creature the same turn he enters the battlefield, you can’t attack with him or use any of his abilities (if he gains any).

 

2015-08-25

If damage that can’t be prevented is dealt to Gideon after his first ability has resolved, that damage will have all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he’s a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he’s a planeswalker). Even though he has indestructible, if Gideon has no loyalty counters on him, he’s put into his owner’s graveyard.

 

2015-08-25

Gideon’s first ability doesn’t count as a creature entering the battlefield. Gideon was already on the battlefield; he only changed his types. Specifically, your rally abilities won’t trigger. (Of course, Gideon’s second ability will cause rally abilities to trigger.)

 

Pricing

 NormalFoil
Low
Median
High
Market
Direct Low

Legalities

FormatLegality
BrawlNot Legal
CommanderLegal
DuelLegal
FutureNot Legal
HistoricNot Legal
LegacyLegal
ModernLegal
OldschoolNot Legal
PauperNot Legal
PennyNot Legal
PioneerLegal
StandardNot Legal
VintageLegal