EN

Shadows over Innistrad Promos (psoi)

#252s ⸱ Rare ⸱ English
Brain in a Jar

Variations

Parts

Brain in a Jar

Artifact
, : Put a charge counter on Brain in a Jar, then you may cast an instant or sorcery spell with mana value equal to the number of charge counters on Brain in a Jar from your hand without paying its mana cost.
, , Remove X charge counters from Brain in a Jar: Scry X.

 

Illustrated by Daniel Ljunggren

 

Legalities

Legal
Duel
Penny
Legacy
Modern
Pioneer
Vintage
Commander
Not Legal
Brawl
Future
Pauper
Historic
Standard
Gladiator
Oldschool
Premodern
Historicbrawl
Paupercommander

Rulings

2016-04-08

When resolving the first ability of Brain in a Jar, the newly-placed charge counter will be counted when determining what spells you may cast. No player may take any action between you placing the counter and choosing which spell to cast.

 

2016-04-08

If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t choose to cast it for any alternative costs, such as awaken costs. You can, however, pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, such as that of Lightning Axe, you must pay those to cast the card.

 

2016-04-08

If Brain in a Jar leaves the battlefield before its first ability resolves, use the number of counters on it at the moment it left to determine what spell you may cast. That number won’t change because you can’t put a new counter on Brain in a Jar.

 

2016-04-08

If the card has in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X.

 

 NormalFoil
Low$0.60
Median$1.25
High$5.15
Market$0.82
Direct Low$1.00
Buy at TCGPlayer

Other Printings (Market Pricing) : 1

 NormalFoil
Shadows over Innistrad$0.20$0.53
Pricing data provided by TCGPlayer