EN

From the Vault: Exiled (v09)

#15 ⸱ Mythic ⸱ English
Trinisphere

Variations

Parts

Trinisphere

Artifact
As long as Trinisphere is untapped, each spell that would cost less than three mana to cast costs three mana to cast. (Additional mana in the cost may be paid with any color of mana or colorless mana. For example, a spell that would cost to cast costs to cast instead.)

 

Designed to restrain petty thoughts, but used to repress entire empires.

 

Illustrated by Tim Hildebrandt

 

Legalities

Legal
Duel
Legacy
Modern
Commander
Not Legal
Brawl
Penny
Future
Pauper
Pioneer
Historic
Standard
Gladiator
Oldschool
Premodern
Historicbrawl
Paupercommander
Restricted
Vintage

Rulings

2004-12-01

Even with a cost reducer on the battlefield, spells can’t cost less than three mana to cast.

 

2004-12-01

If a spell costs at least three mana due to additional costs, such as kicker costs, that’s fine.

 

2004-12-01

Trinisphere’s ability affects the total cost of the spell. It is applied *after* any other cost increasers or cost reducers are applied: First apply any cost increases. Next apply any cost reducers. Finally look at the amount of mana you have to pay. If it’s less than three mana, you’ll pay three mana.

 

2004-12-01

Casting a creature with morph face down already costs three mana, even though the converted mana cost of the face-down spell is zero, so Trinisphere normally doesn’t modify the total cost of a face-down creature spell. However, if Dream Chisel is reducing that cost while Trinisphere is on the battlefield, you’ll still have to pay three mana for the spell.

 

2004-12-01

You still need to pay any additional nonmana costs the spell has, such as sacrificing a creature or discarding cards.

 

 NormalFoil
Low$23.02
Median$28.08
High$79.99
Market$24.85
Direct Low$23.25
Buy at TCGPlayer

Other Printings (Market Pricing) : 3

 NormalFoil
Double Masters$18.30$20.90
Kaladesh Inventions$18.30$156.79
Darksteel$18.06$39.52
Pricing data provided by TCGPlayer